Mãe d’Água

Mãe d’Água: Top Tours & Activities

Top Attractions in Lisbon District

About Mãe d’Água

The entrance to Lisbon of the Águas Livres Aqueduct, marked by the arch of Rua das Amoreiras by the Hungarian architect Carlos Mardel between 1746 and 1748, was closed at the Mãe d'Água Reservoir of Amoreiras. After Carlos Mardel's death in 1763, the final reservoir of the Aqueduct, begun in 1746, was still to be completed. The work was resumed, in 1771, by Reinaldo Manuel dos Santos, who introduced some modifications to the initial plan.

Nearby Attractions