Listing ID: 78474
OcéanieNouvelle-Zélande île du sudQueenstownNelsonWanaka

Randonnée De 8 Jours Avec Les Meilleures Vues De L’île Du Sud De La Nouvelle-Zélande

Embrassez l'île du sud de la Nouvelle-Zélande et visitez des lieux emblématiques tout en profitant de votre confort à la fin de chaque journée satisfaisante. Du parc national Abel Tasman, parfait pour les cartes postales, aux forêts tropicales luxuriantes de Punakaiki et au majestueux Aoraki / Mount Cook. Terminez votre séjour au parc national du Mont Aspiring avant d'arriver à Queenstown.

Une expérience remarquable dans l’île du Sud lors de la visite de tous les lieux d’aventure et d’activité. Explorez le magnifique parc national Abel Tasman, faites une randonnée dans la forêt tropicale luxuriante de Punakaiki et laissez-vous surprendre par la plus haute montagne de Nouvelle-Zélande, Aoraki / Mt Cook.

Départ: 9h00 Hôtel Rutherford, 27, rue Nile, Nelson
Terminer: Queenstown, 17h00 (environ)

Jour 1: Parc national Nelson – Kahurangi
8,5-18,5 km / 4-8 heures de randonnée
Votre guide vous attendra à l’hôtel Rutherford (9h) avant de vous rendre à l’aéroport de Nelson pour récupérer les marcheurs qui effectuent le tour complet en Nouvelle-Zélande et sont en vol depuis Wellington. Asseyez-vous et profitez de la route pittoresque vers Flora Saddle, dans le parc national de Kahurangi. Sur une piste bien formée, nous nous dirigeons vers la ligne de brousse et la cabane du mont Arthur. Les passionnés pourront s’aventurer plus loin avec le guide le long de la crête de marbre accidentée vers le sommet du mont Arthur. Vous pouvez aussi vous percher sur un rocher et vous immerger dans la vue avant de rejoindre le groupe pour la descente (généralement via une piste différente). Ce soir, nous célébrons notre arrivée dans l’île du Sud en dînant ensemble dans l’un des meilleurs restaurants de Nelson. Hébergement: Rutherford Hotel, Nelson. Comprend le déjeuner et le dîner.

Jour 2: Nelson – Parc national Abel Tasman
11,7 km / 3 heures de randonnée
Après un petit-déjeuner matinal, nous partons pour le parc national Abel Tasman. Vous serez étonné de voir à quel point le paysage est différent du parc national de Kahurangi. Montez à bord d’un bateau-taxi et naviguez sur le littoral en passant par les plages de sable doré et les promontoires de granit au cœur du parc national. Arrêtez-vous à Bark Bay et suivez la célèbre piste côtière Abel Tasman à travers les forêts indigènes et le long des plages de sable doré. Un sentier bien formé nous emmène vers Torrent Bay, sur une crête douce, où les eaux claires et limpides de la piscine de Cléopâtre peuvent vous inciter à faire un plongeon ou pour les plus téméraires – une descente sur l’hydro-toboggan naturellement formé! À Anchorage, nous rencontrerons le bateau-taxi pour retourner à Kaiteriteri, un village de bord de mer et une porte d’accès à ce parc national, avant de retourner à Nelson. Il y a du temps libre pour faire plus d’exploration dans cette petite ville dynamique et artistique. Hébergement: Rutherford Hotel, Nelson. Comprend le petit-déjeuner et le déjeuner.

Jour 3: Nelson-Punakaiki
6 km / 3 heures de randonnée
Sur le chemin de la côte ouest, nous nous arrêtons pour une randonnée remarquable pour admirer les flammes naturelles qui brûlent depuis les années 1920. Nous accédons à ce phénomène avec un guide local dans une ferme de cerfs travaillant de manière privée. Contrairement aux flammes éternelles de la chimère en Turquie, ces flammes sont entourées de fougères luxuriantes et de forêts de hêtres. Une tasse de «Billy Tea» et des gâteaux chauds préparés sur les flammes donnent à cette expérience une saveur distincte de kiwi. Nous continuons notre voyage le long de la puissante rivière Buller qui traverse la vaste étendue sauvage de la partie supérieure de l’île du Sud, arrivant sur la côte à Westport. Nous faisons une courte promenade à Cape Foulwind pour voir une colonie de phoques à fourrure de Nouvelle-Zélande se promener dans les bassins. Nous nous dirigeons ensuite vers le sud pour prendre le coucher du soleil à Punakaiki et visiter un pub local pour le dîner. Promenez-vous en soirée autour des célèbres rochers de Pancake et des évents – nous essayons de chronométrer notre visite à marée haute afin que nous puissions quitter les rochers jusqu’à demain si l’heure des marées est plus favorable. Hébergement: Punakaiki Resort, Punakaiki. Comprend le petit-déjeuner, le déjeuner et le dîner.

Jour 4: Punakaiki – Methven
11 km / 3-4 heures de randonnée
Randonnée sur la piste de Pack Inland de Punakaiki à Pororari. Cette route historique était autrefois utilisée par les prospecteurs et les mineurs pour éviter les immenses falaises côtières tout en voyageant sur la côte ouest. Traversez des canyons calcaires profonds, des forêts tropicales et des bosquets de palmiers Nikau. Vous ne pourrez peut-être pas résister à une baignade rapide dans l’une des nombreuses piscines claires que vous traversez! Après la randonnée, nous rejoignons une autoroute remarquable qui nous emmène des forêts tropicales luxuriantes de la côte ouest et des Alpes du Sud glaciaires jusqu’aux savanes jaunes molles de Canterbury. C’est l’une des routes les plus intelligemment conçues en Nouvelle-Zélande. À l’est du col d’Arthurs, détendez-vous et promenez-vous autour des ravissants affleurements calcaires de Kura Tawhiti (colline du château). Cette zone était un lieu de rencontre important et un lieu de rassemblement de nourriture pour les premiers Maori. Fait intéressant, lors de sa visite en 2002, le dalaï-lama lui a décerné un «centre spirituel de l’univers». Aujourd’hui, c’est un refuge pour les grimpeurs qui grimpent et se faufilent sur une multitude de formes rocheuses. Nous quittons ensuite l’autoroute et suivons les routes de campagne autour du lac Lyndon et continuons vers Methven, une ville de ski en hiver et une ville rurale décontractée le reste de l’année. Les Alpes du Sud forment une toile de fond spectaculaire. Promenez-vous dans le village pour un repas dans un restaurant local. Hébergement: Methven Resort, Methven. Comprend le petit-déjeuner et le déjeuner.

Jour 5: Methven – Aoraki / Mount Cook
5 km / 3 heures de randonnée
Continuez vers le sud en longeant les plaines de Canterbury jusqu’au lac Tekapo, célèbre pour ses eaux turquoises et la pittoresque église du Bon Pasteur, perchée au bord du lac. Montez à travers les conifères sauvages et les prairies à buttes jusqu’au sommet du mont Jean. Découvrez les vues à 360 degrés du paysage de type Patagonie. Le bassin du Mackenzie est une région peu peuplée située dans l’ombre pluvieuse des Alpes du Sud; les zones sèches brun-fauve, les lits de rivière tressés et les lacs glaciaires étonnants s’étendent jusqu’à l’horizon. En arrivant au village de Mount Cook, nous montons à Red Tarns pour une vue magnifique sur Aoraki / Mount Cook et les Alpes environnantes. Détendez-vous ici et profitez de la vue avant de redescendre en arrivant à la porte de notre hébergement, où nous restons pour les deux prochaines nuits. Hébergement: loge dans le parc national d’Aoraki / Mount Cook. Comprend le petit-déjeuner, le déjeuner et le dîner.

Jour 6: Aoraki / Mount Cook
5-8 km / 4 heures de randonnée
Montez à Sealy Tarns et admirez la vue imprenable sur le mont Sefton, le glacier Mueller et la vallée de Hooker jusqu’à Aoraki / Mount Cook. Si vous vous sentez énergique, rejoignez le guide pour une autre ascension des goudrons jusqu’à la crête de Mueller Ridge pour des vues encore plus larges de ce magnifique paysage alpin. Ceux qui ne veulent pas grimper à Sealy ou à Mueller peuvent choisir l’option la plus plate et remonter la vallée de Hooker (non guidée), profitant de la vue rapprochée des glaciers Mueller et Hooker en chemin. Hébergement: loge dans le parc national d’Aoraki / Mount Cook. Comprend le petit-déjeuner, le déjeuner et le dîner.

Jour 7: Aoraki / Mount Cook – Wanaka
2 km / 1 heure de randonnée
Remontez la vallée de Tasman vers le plus long glacier de Nouvelle-Zélande, le glacier Tasman. Faites une courte promenade à travers la moraine glaciaire et montez à bord d’un bateau sur mesure pour un tour unique autour du lac terminal. Comme la plupart des glaciers dans le monde, le glacier de Tasman recule et la superficie du lac terminal augmente chaque année. Cet environnement dynamique est parsemé d’icebergs de toutes formes et tailles de la paroi terminale effondrée du glacier. Notre route vers Wanaka suit le sud du Mackenzie avant de franchir les terres à buttes du col Lindis pour atteindre le district des lacs du sud. Wanaka est une belle ville de vacances au bord du lac. Hébergement: Edgewater Resort, Wanaka. Comprend le petit-déjeuner, le déjeuner et le dîner.

Jour 8: Wanaka – Queenstown
10 km / 4 heures de randonnée
Une belle promenade le long du lac Wanaka nous mène au parc national Aspiring. Nous remontons la vallée de Matukituki sous quelques sommets avant de remonter le ruisseau latéral Rob Roy et de monter brusquement vers la ligne de la brousse. Ce magnifique sentier traversant une forêt de hêtres vierges débouche dans un splendide bassin alpin en dessous de la masse gonflante du glacier Rob Roy. Regardez l’eau tomber du museau pendant que vous vous détendez et que vous appréciez le déjeuner. Gardez un œil sur le kea effronté (perroquet alpin). Vous n’aurez probablement pas besoin de regarder trop fort comme ces curieux oiseaux appellent normalement quand la nourriture est présente (bien qu’il soit important de ne jamais leur offrir de morsures et de perturber leur comportement de recherche de nourriture naturel)! Après la randonnée, prenez un verre et détendez-vous sur la pelouse du célèbre ancien hôtel de drone à Cardrona, avant de traverser le Crown Range et de vous rendre dans la scène animée de Queenstown. Votre visite se termine ici en fin d’après midi. Comprend le petit-déjeuner et le déjeuner.

Grading & Fitness:
Catégorie B
Jusqu’à 4-5 heures d’activité physique par jour
Portant parfois un sac à dos de 4-5kgs (8-10 lbs)
Pistes généralement en bon état
Des gains d’altitude allant jusqu’à 600 m (2000 pieds) les jours difficiles
Aucune expérience de randonnée nécessaire

Quoi prendre: Le temps de la Nouvelle-Zélande est très variable et le temps froid peut être vécu à tout moment de l’année, en particulier dans les montagnes. Nous vous recommandons de porter des tissus légers et respirants lors d’une randonnée. Le sous-vêtement en mérinos ou en polypropylène est excellent par temps froid et vous gardera au chaud quand il sera mouillé, contrairement au coton. Les jeans ne sont pas adaptés à la randonnée.

Éléments essentiels:
– des chaussures de randonnée ou des chaussures
– pack de jour
– imperméable imperméable (gore-tex ou similaire)
– polaire chaude / jersey de laine (pas de coton)
– shorts ou pantalons de randonnée légers (de préférence à séchage rapide)
– polypro / thermiques – haut et bas
– chemise à manches longues (pour la protection solaire)
– 4 paires de chaussettes
– chapeau chaud
– chapeau de soleil, crème solaire et lunettes de soleil
– bouteille de boisson (1 litre)
– des chaussures ou des sandales de rechange
– insecticide
– short à manches courtes (séchage rapide, polypropylène ou laine)
– des vêtements décontractés pour les voyages et les soirées
– Gants et Mitaines
– togs (maillot de bain)

- Que Ferez-vous

- Découvrez le sable doré du parc national Abel Tasman
- Visitez le phénomène des "Flammes naturelles" pour une expérience distinctement "kiwi"
- Rivières limpides et canyons calcaires de la côte ouest
- Explorez le majestueux Aoraki / Mount Cook
- Croisière d'un lac terminal glaciaire et toucher des cristaux glaciaires vieux de 300 à 500 ans

- À quoi s’attendre

- La tranche sud a été créée pour ceux qui apprécient un hébergement de qualité après une bonne journée de randonnée.
- Un excellent guide peut faire la différence entre un voyage d'une vie et un simple voyage. C'est pourquoi nous travaillons dur pour embaucher les meilleurs guides.
- Il y aura une gamme de routes - scellées et non scellées. Les guides sont facilement convaincus d'arrêter le véhicule s'il y a une grande opportunité de photo, un vignoble ou un magasin de crème glacée remarquable!

- Ce qui est inclus

- Hébergement: Le voyage Southern Slice utilise une gamme d’hôtels et de lodges de qualité choisis pour leur qualité et leur emplacement exceptionnel. Toutes les chambres disposent d'une salle de bains privative. Certaines loges ont des unités avec deux chambres par unité. Les chambres sont partagées ou doubles. Si vous voyagez seul, vous recevrez une chambre double avec un compagnon de voyage du même sexe. Des suppléments simples sont disponibles sur ce circuit.
- Guides et sécurité: Nos professionnels triés sur le volet viennent d'horizons divers. Chacune a une grande expérience du plein air et de la randonnée et une passion pour l’arrière-pays sauvage et magnifique de la Nouvelle-Zélande. Nos guides veilleront à ce que votre séjour chez nous soit vraiment inspirant, amusant et sûr. Tous les guides sont formés aux premiers soins de sécurité en montagne. Une trousse de premiers secours, de l'eau potable, des équipements de sécurité et des cartes sont inclus.
- Nourriture: Presque tous les repas sont inclus dans cette visite, mais lorsque vous séjournez dans les villes, nous vous permettons de faire vos propres affaires et d’essayer certains des excellents restaurants locaux. Le petit déjeuner est généralement (mais pas toujours) de style continental dans les pavillons et les hôtels. Si vous préférez explorer le matin, il existe de nombreuses possibilités de faire du pâturage dans les cafés locaux. Les déjeuners que nous préparons sont souvent en fuite dans des aires de pique-nique ou sur des sentiers. Nos guides proposent généralement des repas pour vous et vous aident tout simplement. Nous fournissons des aliments sains et sains et contiennent beaucoup de produits frais. Cela fait partie de notre philosophie de faire participer tout le monde, il y a donc de fortes chances que vous utilisiez un couteau tranchant ou que vous poussiez le chariot à l'heure du déjeuner. Nos remorques personnalisées ont une table rabattable et une zone de cuisson parfaite pour préparer des pique-niques dans tous les endroits secrets que nous vous emmènerons. Les dîners inclus sont souvent dans des restaurants de loge (menu fixe ou à la carte), ou dans un restaurant de la ville, mais parfois hors de l'ordinaire!
- transport: le temps de conduite moyen par jour varie; nous avons quelques jours où nous conduisons à peine. Lors d'une journée typique, nous pourrions être dans le véhicule pendant 2-3 heures. Mais certains jours, nous roulerons plus longtemps. Le temps de conduite est une chance de se reposer et de profiter du paysage fantastique en constante évolution. Nous voyageons dans un minibus de luxe en remorquant une remorque sur mesure avec de la nourriture, du matériel et vos bagages. Nous avons une boîte de bibliothèque avec des livres de référence sur l’histoire naturelle que vous pouvez également consulter.

- Ce qui n’est pas inclus

- Location de matériel: Nous pouvons vous proposer des équipements de randonnée de qualité pour votre visite, sans frais supplémentaires. Nous sommes en mesure de fournir une veste polaire, un haut et un bas thermique, un imperméable, des guêtres et des bâtons de marche. Les demandes d’équipement doivent être faites au moins 5 jours avant la date de départ.
- Frais supplémentaires: Toutes les activités décrites dans l'itinéraire sont incluses dans le prix du voyage.
- Repas au restaurant: les repas compris dans le prix du voyage sont détaillés dans l'itinéraire. Deux repas du soir ne sont pas inclus (Nelson et Methven). Le coût typique d'un plat principal de restaurant en Nouvelle-Zélande est d'environ 28 dollars.

- FAQ

Does it matter if I am travelling alone?
Most of the people on our tours are travelling alone. The tours are strong on group activities and participation which effortlessly results in everyone getting to each other pretty well and pretty quickly - some becoming lifelong friends after travelling on our trips.
I am travelling and have a lot of stuff that I will not need on the tour, what should I do with it?
You can store it at your accommodation if you plan on returning to the area. Or, you can travel with it on tour. We allow a maximum space of 120 litres per person (1 large suit case plus a daypack).
I have dietary requirements, is that a problem?
Not at all. We often have a variety of dietary requirements and as long as you let us know at the time of booking we should be able to cater for this.
What is the weather going to be like?
New Zealand experiences very changeable weather - especially in the remote mountainous regions where we spend most of our time. Some days we can be broiling in 30 degrees and then the next day we could be freezing in a cool southerly from the sub Antarctic. It is best to be prepared for the worst conditions we are likely to expect - see the 'What To Take' section. We may get some rain on the trip so a good waterproof raincoat is important.
Who is in my group?
A small group (maximum 11 people), with a range of ages, nationalities and work backgrounds. We have hosted guests from 17 to 72. On average, half are women and half are men. Everyone shares an enthusiasm for outdoor adventure and an appreciation of nature.
What type of gear should I buy?
If you intend to do a lot of hiking then it is worth buying quality equipment - good leather hiking boots and hiking clothing. If you think you might not do any more hiking after the tour then you could buy cheaper alternatives - just remember that it won't last as long nor do the job as well. You may also rent certain items from us.
What if I can't keep up with the rest of the group?
We hike together as a group, stopping often for snacks and a good lunch. Some activities are optional if you feel like having some time out.
Can I charge my camera/phone/laptop, etc. while on tour?
Yes. Most places we stay have electricity so you will be able to recharge batteries. If you have a vehicle adapter, bring it along as there may be an opportunity to charge items while we are driving.
Can I do laundry on tour?
Yes, most places we stay have laundry facilities. We recommend bringing items that are quick drying and plenty of spare pairs of socks and underwear.
What is the cancellations policy?
More than 20 days prior to departure – 80% refund of full ticket price. 20 to 10 days prior to departure – 50% refund of full ticket price. Less than 10 days prior to departure – NO REFUND.

Rate and write a review

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Réservez en 3 étapes faciles

3 - Cliquez pour réserver maintenant

Expérience Info

- Best price guarantee
- Duration: 8 days
- Printed tickets are accepted
- Mobile tickets are accepted
- We speak:EN language flag

Point de Rencontre

Les informations complètes sur l’opérateur, y compris les numéros de téléphone locaux à votre destination, sont incluses sur votre bon de confirmation. Nos chefs de produits sélectionnent uniquement les opérateurs les plus expérimentés et les plus fiables dans chaque destination, ce qui vous évite d’avoir à faire des conjectures et garantit votre tranquillité d’esprit.

Besoin de plus d’informations?

Send a message to the tour provider.
Your question will be answered shortly.

Listing ID: 78474

8-Day Hiking Trip Along The Best Views Of The Southern Island Of New Zealand

Embrace the South Island of New Zealand and visit iconic locations along with enjoying your creature comforts at the end of each satisfying day. From postcard perfect Abel Tasman National Park to Punakaiki’s luscious green rainforests and the majestic Aoraki/Mount Cook. Finish your time in this magical country under the immense peaks of Mount Aspiring National Park before arriving in Queenstown.

A remarkable South Island experience visiting all the adventure and activity hotspots. Explore the beautiful Abel Tasman National Park, hike through luscious green rainforest at Punakaiki and be stunned by New Zealand’s highest mountain, Aoraki/Mt Cook.

Start: 9:00am Rutherford Hotel, 27 Nile Street, Nelson
Finish: Queenstown, 5:00pm (approx.)

Day 1: Nelson-Kahurangi National Park
8.5-18.5km/4-8 hours hiking
Your guide will meet you at the Rutherford Hotel (9am) before driving to Nelson airport to collect those walkers that are doing the full New Zealand Uncut and are on a flight from Wellington. Sit back and enjoy the picturesque drive to Flora Saddle in Kahurangi National Park. On a well-formed track, we meander our way up to the bush-line and the Mt Arthur hut. Those feeling keen can venture further with the guide along the rugged marble ridge-line towards the summit of Mt Arthur. Alternatively, perch on a rock and soak in the view before reuniting with the group for the descent (usually via a different track). Tonight, we celebrate our arrival in the South Island by dining together in one of Nelson’s fine restaurants. Accommodation: Rutherford Hotel, Nelson. Includes lunch and dinner.

Day 2: Nelson-Abel Tasman National Park
11.7km/3 hours hiking
After an early breakfast, we set off for Abel Tasman National Park. You will be amazed at how different the landscape is here to nearby Kahurangi National Park. Board a water taxi and cruise the coastline past golden sand beaches and rugged granite headlands into the heart of the National Park. Step ashore at Bark Bay and follow the famed Abel Tasman coastal track through native forests and along golden sand beaches. A well-formed trail leads us up and over a gentle ridge into Torrent Bay, where the lovely clear fresh waters of Cleopatra’s Pool may tempt you to take a dip or for those more daring – a slide down the naturally formed hydro-slide! At Anchorage, we will meet the water taxi for a return journey to Kaiteriteri, a seaside village and gateway to this National Park, before heading back to Nelson. There is free time to do some more exploring in this vibrant and arty little town. Accommodation: Rutherford Hotel, Nelson. Includes breakfast and lunch.

Day 3: Nelson- Punakaiki
6km/3 hours hiking
On the way to the West Coast we stop for a remarkable hike to marvel at natural flames which have been burning since the 1920’s. We access this phenomena with a local guide through a privately-owned working deer farm. Unlike the Eternal Flames of the Chimera in Turkey these flames are surrounded by lush tree ferns and beech forest. A cup of ‘billy tea’ and hot cakes prepared over the flames gives this experience a distinctly kiwi flavour. We continue our journey alongside the mighty Buller River as it cuts through the massive wilderness of the upper South Island, arriving on the coast at Westport. We take a short stroll at Cape Foulwind to view a colony of New Zealand fur seals playfully splashing around in the rock pools. We then head south to catch the sunset at Punakaiki and visit a local pub for dinner. Take an evening stroll around the famous Pancake Rocks and blowholes – we try to time our visit with high tides so we may leave the rocks until tomorrow if tide times are more favourable. Accommodation: Punakaiki Resort, Punakaiki. Includes breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Day 4: Punakaiki – Methven
11km/3-4 hours hiking
Hike the Inland Pack Track from Punakaiki to Pororari. This historic route was once used by prospectors and miners to avoid the immense coastal cliffs while travelling the West Coast. Pass through deep limestone canyons, towering rainforests and groves of Nikau Palms. You may not be able to resist a speedy swim in one of the many deep clear pools you pass on the way! After the hike, we join a remarkable highway which takes us from the lush green rainforests of the West Coast and over the glaciated Southern Alps to the parched soft yellow savannahs of Canterbury. This is one of the most cleverly engineered roads in New Zealand. East of Arthurs Pass, stretch your legs and stroll around the enchanting limestone outcrops of Kura Tawhiti (Castle Hill). This area was an important meeting place and food gathering area for early Maori people. Interestingly it was also bestowed a “spiritual centre of the universe” by the Dalai Lama when he visited in 2002. Today it is a haven for rock climbers who climb and boulder on the multitude of rock forms. We then leave the highway and follow the back roads around Lake Lyndon and on to Methven, a ski town by winter and laid-back rural town the rest of the year. The Southern Alps form a spectacular backdrop. Wander in to the village for a meal at a local restaurant. Accommodation: Methven Resort, Methven. Includes breakfast and lunch.

Day 5: Methven – Aoraki/Mount Cook
5km/3 hours hiking
Drive south following the edge of the Canterbury plains to Lake Tekapo, famous for its stunning turquoise waters and the quaint Church of the Good Shepherd, perched daintily by the lake. Hike up through wilding conifers and tussock grasslands to the summit of Mt John. Revel in the 360-degree views of the Patagonia-like landscape. The sweeping Mackenzie basin is a sparsely populated region in the rain shadow of the Southern Alps; tawny-brown drylands, braided riverbeds and startling glacial lakes extend to the horizon. On arrival at Mount Cook village we hike up to Red Tarns for magnificent views of Aoraki/Mount Cook and the surrounding alps. Relax here and enjoy the views before wandering back down arriving at the door of our accommodation, where we stay for the next two nights. Accommodation: lodge within Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. Includes breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Day 6: Aoraki/Mount Cook
5-8km/4 hours hiking
Hike up to Sealy Tarns and enjoy the awesome views of Mt Sefton, Mueller Glacier and across the Hooker Valley to Aoraki/Mount Cook. If you’’re feeling energetic, join the guide for a further climb from the tarns up to the crest of Mueller Ridge for even wider views of this magnificent alpine landscape. Those not wanting to climb to Sealy or Mueller can take the flatter option and walk up the Hooker Valley (unguided), enjoying close up views of the Mueller and Hooker Glaciers on the way. Accommodation: lodge within Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. Includes breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Day 7: Aoraki/Mount Cook – Wanaka
2km/1 hour hiking
Travel up the Tasman Valley towards the longest glacier in New Zealand, the Tasman Glacier. Take a short walk through the glacial moraine and board a custom-built boat for a unique spin around the terminal lake. Like most glaciers in the world the Tasman Glacier is retreating and the terminal lake increases in size every year. This dynamic environment is dotted with icebergs of all shapes and sizes from the collapsing terminal wall of the glacier. Our drive to Wanaka follows the Mackenzie country south before climbing over the tussock lands of the Lindis Pass into the southern lakes district. Wanaka is a lovely holiday town on the lake-side. Accommodation: Edgewater Resort, Wanaka. Includes breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Day 8: Wanaka – Queenstown
10km/4 hours hiking
A beautiful drive alongside Lake Wanaka leads us to Aspiring National Park. We hike up the Matukituki Valley beneath some fine peaks before turning up the Rob Roy side stream and climbing abruptly to the bushline. This gorgeous trail through virgin beech forest emerges into a splendid alpine basin below the bulking mass of the Rob Roy Glacier. Watch water tumble off the glacier’s snout as you relax and enjoy lunch. Keep an eye out for cheeky kea (alpine parrot). You probably won’t need to look too hard as these curious birds normally call in when food is around (although it’s important to never offer them any titbits and upset their natural foraging behaviour)! After the hike grab a drink and unwind on the lawn of the famous old drover’s hotel at Cardrona, before we drive over the Crown Range and into the lively scene of Queenstown. Your tour finishes here in the late afternoon. Includes breakfast and lunch.

Grading & Fitness:
Grade: B
Up to 4-5 hours of physical activity per day
At times carrying a backpack of 4-5kgs (8-10 lbs)
Tracks generally in good condition
Altitude gains of up to 600m (2000ft) on harder days
No hiking experience necessary

What to Take: New Zealand’s weather is very changeable and cold weather can be experienced at any time of year, especially in the mountains. We recommend wearing lightweight and breathable fabrics while hiking. Merino or polypropylene underwear is great in cold weather and will still keep you warm when it gets wet, unlike cotton. Jeans are not suitable for hiking.

Essential Items:
– hiking boots or shoes
– day pack
– waterproof raincoat (gore-tex or similar)
– warm fleece/wool jersey (not cotton)
– shorts or lightweight hiking trousers (preferably quick-dry)
– polypro/thermals – top & bottom
– long sleeve shirt (for sun protection)
– 4 pairs of socks
– warm hat
– sun hat, sunscreen and sunglasses
– drink bottle (1 litre)
– spare shoes or sandals
– insect repellent
– short-sleeved short (quick-dry, polypropylene or wool)
– casual clothing for travel and evenings
– gloves/mittens
– togs (swimming costume)

- What Will You Do

- Experience the golden sands of the Abel Tasman National Park
- Visit the ‘Natural Flames’ phenomenon for a distinctly ‘kiwi’ experience
- Crystal clear rivers and limestone canyons of the West Coast
- Explore the majestic Aoraki/Mount Cook
- Cruise a glacier terminal lake and touch 300-500 year old glacial crystals

- What To Expect

- The Southern Slice has been created for those that appreciate a high standard of accommodation after a good day of hiking.
- An excellent guide can make the difference between a trip of a lifetime and just an ordinary trip. That is why we work hard to make sure we hire the best guides.
- There will be a range of roads - sealed and unsealed. The guides are easily convinced to stop the vehicle if there is a great photo opportunity, vineyard or notable ice cream shop!

- What Is Included

- Accommodation: The Southern Slice trip uses a range of hotels and quality lodges chosen for their good standards and wonderful locations. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms. Some lodges have units with two bedrooms per unit. Rooms are twin share or doubles. If you are travelling on your own you will be given a twin share room with a fellow traveller of the same gender. Single supplements are available on this tour.
- Guides & Safety: Our handpicked professionals come from a range of backgrounds. Each has extensive outdoor and hiking experience and a passion for New Zealand’s wild and beautiful backcountry. Our guides will ensure that your time with us is truly inspiring, a huge amount of fun and safe. All guides are trained in Mountain Safety First Aid. First aid kit, drinking water, safety equipment and maps are included.
- Food: Almost all of the meals are included on this tour, but when staying in the cities we let you do your own thing and try some of the excellent local restaurants. Breakfast is usually (but not always) continental-style in the lodges and hotels. There are plenty of opportunities to graze the local cafes if you would prefer to explore in the morning. The lunches we prepare ourselves are often on the run in picnic areas or on trails. Our guides usually set out lunch food for you and you simply help yourself. We provide healthy and wholesome food and include a lot of fresh produce. It is part of our philosophy to get everyone involved so there is a pretty good chance you may find yourself wielding a sharp knife or pushing the tea trolley around at lunchtime. Our customised trailers have a fold down table and cooking area that is perfect for preparing picnics at all those secret places we will take you. Included dinners are frequently in lodge restaurants (either set menu or a la carte), or in a restaurant in the town but occasionally somewhere out of the ordinary!
- Transport: The average driving time per day varies; we have some days where we hardly drive at all. On a typical day we might be in the vehicle for 2-3 hours. But some days we will drive for longer. The driving time is a chance to rest and enjoy the fantastic scenery that is forever changing. We travel in a luxury minibus towing a custom-built trailer with food, equipment and your luggage. We carry a library box with some natural history reference books for you to peruse too.

- What Is Not Included

- Equipment Hire: We can offer quality hiking equipment for use on your tour at no additional charge. We are able to supply fleece jacket, thermal top and bottom, raincoat, gaiters and walking poles. Requests for equipment must be made at least 5 days before the departure date.
- Additional Costs: All activities outlined in the itinerary are included in the trip price.
- Meals out: Meals that are included in the trip price are detailed in the itinerary. Two evening meals are not included (Nelson and Methven). The typical cost for a restaurant main course in New Zealand is about $28.

- FAQ

Does it matter if I am travelling alone?
Most of the people on our tours are travelling alone. The tours are strong on group activities and participation which effortlessly results in everyone getting to each other pretty well and pretty quickly - some becoming lifelong friends after travelling on our trips.
I am travelling and have a lot of stuff that I will not need on the tour, what should I do with it?
You can store it at your accommodation if you plan on returning to the area. Or, you can travel with it on tour. We allow a maximum space of 120 litres per person (1 large suit case plus a daypack).
I have dietary requirements, is that a problem?
Not at all. We often have a variety of dietary requirements and as long as you let us know at the time of booking we should be able to cater for this.
What is the weather going to be like?
New Zealand experiences very changeable weather - especially in the remote mountainous regions where we spend most of our time. Some days we can be broiling in 30 degrees and then the next day we could be freezing in a cool southerly from the sub Antarctic. It is best to be prepared for the worst conditions we are likely to expect - see the 'What To Take' section. We may get some rain on the trip so a good waterproof raincoat is important.
Who is in my group?
A small group (maximum 11 people), with a range of ages, nationalities and work backgrounds. We have hosted guests from 17 to 72. On average, half are women and half are men. Everyone shares an enthusiasm for outdoor adventure and an appreciation of nature.
What type of gear should I buy?
If you intend to do a lot of hiking then it is worth buying quality equipment - good leather hiking boots and hiking clothing. If you think you might not do any more hiking after the tour then you could buy cheaper alternatives - just remember that it won't last as long nor do the job as well. You may also rent certain items from us.
What if I can't keep up with the rest of the group?
We hike together as a group, stopping often for snacks and a good lunch. Some activities are optional if you feel like having some time out.
Can I charge my camera/phone/laptop, etc. while on tour?
Yes. Most places we stay have electricity so you will be able to recharge batteries. If you have a vehicle adapter, bring it along as there may be an opportunity to charge items while we are driving.
Can I do laundry on tour?
Yes, most places we stay have laundry facilities. We recommend bringing items that are quick drying and plenty of spare pairs of socks and underwear.
What is the cancellations policy?
More than 20 days prior to departure – 80% refund of full ticket price. 20 to 10 days prior to departure – 50% refund of full ticket price. Less than 10 days prior to departure – NO REFUND.

Customer Reviews (0 reviews)

Book in 3 Easy Steps

3 - Click to book now

Experience Info

- Best price guarantee
- Duration: 8 days
- Printed tickets are accepted
- Mobile tickets are accepted
- We speak: EN language flag

Meeting Point

Complete Operator information, including local telephone numbers at your destination, are included on your Confirmation Voucher. Our Product Managers select only the most experienced and reliable operators in each destination, removing the guesswork for you, and ensuring your peace of mind.

Need more info?

Send a message to the tour provider.
Your question will be answered shortly.