Welcome to Assise

L'une des villes les plus célèbres d'Italie est Assise, un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, et, surtout, la patrie de Saint-François, l'homme qui a renoncé à tous ses biens afin de consacrer sa vie à aider les nécessiteux. Dédié à lui est la splendide basilique, l'un des emblèmes du christianisme, situé sur le mont Subasio, à partir duquel il surplombe toute la vallée, lui est dédié. En plus d'être un appel fort pour des millions de croyants religieux, la basilique est un monument de grande valeur artistique. La basilique Saint-François se compose de deux églises posées l'une sur l'autre et d'une crypte contenant la tombe du Saint. La basilique inférieure, avec un double portail frontal, présente une façade simple agrémentée d'une rosace et d'une mosaïque. L'intérieur est décoré de fresques de certains des peintres les plus importants de 1200 à 1300, de Cimabue à Giotto et des Lorenzettis à Simone Martini. La lumière qui filtre à travers les magnifiques vitraux de Giovanni di Bonino et Puccio Capanna crée une ambiance très suggestive.

Top Tours & Activités à Assise

Assise, Cortona Et Pérouse Tour De Sienne

Découvrez l'art et l'architecture ainsi que les sites religieux de la Toscane et de l'Ombrie lors d'une excursion d'une journée à Pérouse, Assise et Cortona. Admirez les paysages spectaculaires, explorez les villes médiévales perchées et visitez les ruines étrusques avec un guide expérimenté.

Savoir plus
Assisi, Cortona & Perugia Tour – De Florence

Découvrez l'art et l'architecture ainsi que les sites religieux de la Toscane et de l'Ombrie lors d'une excursion d'une journée à Pérouse, Assise et Cortona. Admirez les paysages spectaculaires, explorez les villes médiévales perchées et visitez les ruines étrusques avec un guide expérimenté.

Savoir plus
Search All Experiences in the Map

Bon À Savoir

La Langue
Italian
Devise
Euro
Fuseau Horaire
UTC+01:00
Code de Téléphone du Pays
+39
Meilleur Moment pour Visiter

Choses À Faire Dans Assise

Attractions Top In Assise

Welcome to Assisi

One of the most famous towns in Italy is Assisi, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and, above all, homeland of St. Francis, the man who renounced all his possessions in order to devote his life to helping the needy. Dedicated to him is the splendid Basilica, one of the emblems of Christianity, located on Mount Subasio, from which it overlooks the entire valley, is dedicated to him. Apart from being a strong appeal for millions of religious believers, the Basilica is a monument of great artistic value. St. Francis's Basilica consists of two churches laid upon each other and a crypt containing the tomb of the Saint. The Lower Basilica, with a double front portal, presents a simple facade embellished with a rose window and a mosaic. The interior is decorated with frescoes by some of the most important painters from 1200 to 1300, from Cimabue to Giotto and from the Lorenzettis to Simone Martini. The light that filters through the beautiful stained glass windows by Giovanni di Bonino and Puccio Capanna creates a very suggestive ambience.

Top Tours & Activities in Assisi

Assisi, Cortona & Perugia Tour – From Florence

Discover the art and architecture and the religious sites of Tuscany and Umbria on a full-day tour of Perugia, Assisi, and Cortona. Admire spectacular landscapes, explore medieval hilltop towns, and tour Etruscan ruins with a knowledgeable guide.

Know more
Assisi, Cortona & Perugia Tour From Siena

Discover the art and architecture and the religious sites of Tuscany and Umbria on a full-day tour of Perugia, Assisi, and Cortona. Admire spectacular landscapes, explore medieval hilltop towns, and tour Etruscan ruins with a knowledgeable guide.

Know more
Small Group Tour Of Assisi In English

Join us for this 3-hour walking tour in Assisi with an English speaking guide. You'll get to see the wonderful Basilica of Saint Francis, Saint Rufino’s Cathedral, and Saint Claire's Basilica as well as the lively main city square – Piazza del Comune.

Know more
Search All Experiences in the Map

Good To Know

Language
Italian
Currency
Euro
Time Zone
UTC+01:00
Country Phone Code
+39
Best Time To Visit